Title 22 Examining Boards
Part 24 Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
Chapter 577 GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE DUTIES

22 TAC §577.15

The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (Board) adopts this amendment to §577.15, concerning the Fee Schedule. The amendment is adopted without changes to the proposed text published in the November 3, 2017, issue of the *Texas Register* (42 TexReg 6119) and will not be republished.

#### Reasoned Justification and Factual Basis

The purpose of the proposed amendment is to increase license renewal fees to cover increased costs for administering Chapter 801, Occupations Code, in fiscal years 2018 and 2019. There are three necessary increased costs that the agency must cover. First, increased vendor costs for the Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) require the agency to contribute an additional \$35,402 annually for operation and maintenance of the program. Additionally, the agency's contract with the Board's peer assistance program, Professional Recovery Network (PRN), requires an additional \$15,000 annually for fiscal years 2018 and 2019. Finally, the agency is required to increase fees to generate \$148,910 during the 2018-2019 biennium to compensate for an additional staff member approved by the legislature.

Summary of Comments and Agency Response

The agency did not receive any public comments that concerned the proposed amendment to this rule.

Statutory Authority

The new rule is adopted under the authority of §801.151(a), Occupations Code, which states that the Board may adopt rules necessary to administer the chapter, and the authority of 801.154, Occupations Code, which states that the Board by rule shall set fees in amounts that are reasonable and necessary so that the fees, in the aggregate, cover the costs of administering Chapter 801, Occupations Code.

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the adoption.

This agency hereby certifies that the rule, as adopted, has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority.

§577.15. Fee Schedule.

The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners has established the following fixed fees as reasonable and necessary for the administration of its functions. Other variable fees exist, including

but not limited to costs as described in §575.10 of this title (relating to Costs of Administrative Hearings), and are not included in this schedule.

# (a) APPLICATION FOR INITIAL LICENSE

Type of License Application	Total Fee
Veterinary Regular License	\$515
Veterinary Special License	\$575
Veterinary Provisional License	\$600
Veterinary Temporary License	\$200
Equine Dental Provider License	\$100
Veterinary Technician License	\$50

# (b) LICENSE RENEWALS.

# (1) Current License Renewals

Type Of License	Board Fees
Veterinary Regular License	\$195.00
Veterinary Special License	\$209.00
Veterinary Inactive License	\$109.00
Equine Dental Provider License	\$83.00
Equine Dental Provider Inactive	\$56
License	
Veterinary Technician Regular	\$50.00
License	
Veterinary Technician Inactive	\$26
License	

# (2) Expired License Renewals – Less Than 90 Days Delinquent

Type Of License	<b>Board Fees</b>
Veterinary Regular License	\$280.00
Veterinary Special License	\$296.50
Veterinary Inactive License	\$160.00
Equine Dental Provider License	\$124.00
Equine Dental Provider Inactive	\$81.50
License	
Veterinary Technician Regular	\$75.00
License	
Veterinary Technician Inactive	\$36.50
License	

# (3) Expired License Renewals – Greater Than 90 Days and Less Than 1 Year Delinquent

Type Of License	<b>Board Fees</b>
7.1	
Veterinary Regular License	\$364.00
Veterinary Special License	\$384.00
Veterinary Inactive License	\$211.00
Equine Dental Provider License	\$164.00
Equine Dental Provider Inactive	\$107
License	
Veterinary Technician Regular	\$99.00
License	
	± . —

Veterinary Technician Inactive \$47

License

### (c) SPECIALIZED LICENSE CATEGORIES

Type Of License Total Fee Veterinary Reinstatement \$250 Veterinary Re-Activation \$150 Equine Dental Provider Re-\$25

Activation

Veterinary Technician Re-Activation \$25

#### (d) OTHER FIXED FEES AND CHARGES

(1) Criminal History Evaluation Letter: \$32

(2) Returned Check Fee: \$25 (3) Duplication of License: \$40 (4) Letter of Good Standing: \$25

(5) Continuing Education Approval Review Process: \$25

(6) Continuing Education Approval Review submitted less than 30 days

prior to the continuing education event: \$50

(7) Equine Dental Certification approval review process: \$1,500